Round 8 2015 SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship

Anglesey International-13th June 2015

Newboys in charge

Organised by Midland Automobile Club

by Paul Parker

Friday proved a hellish journey for most competitoirs, from whatever part of the country you came from. That is with the exception of two competitors, Tom & Michael Connolly who were joining us for the first time from Southern Ireland. All they had to do was hop on a boat and then it was just a few miles down the road from Holyhead. At least the weather did not match up to what the weather forecast suggested, which was wet most of the day, it was the same both days, grey to start with but the sunshine arrived last morning and stayed for the remainder of the day.

It was a miserable weekend for the Calder clan. Colin took just one practice run, only to suffer another bearing failure in their transmission. They had no alternative but to pack up and head home! Scott Rayson, after his 2014 experience at the venue decided he would register for the 2015 SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship. Was he the first "sandracer" ever to do so? And he was far from alone, there were 4 other drivers entered in such cars for the weekend, all armed with a variety of engines, from Guernsey, and they were joined by a few more from their island in a mixture of cars. The Connollys were undertaking theirt second outing in the car (Michael had achieved FTD at his first event) but in a very different environment to that which they are accustomed to. But they thought the venue of a British Sprint Championship weekend would be far better suited to the 4.0 Gould-Judd GR37 they now had. Unfortunately for much of the weekend they were burdened with a misfire, but they limited its impact by "short shifting". The SBD F3 Dallara had been treated to an outing on a chassis dyno. It proved to be a valauble experience as the cause ofthe recalcitrant rear was discovered. All that Steve Broughton & Matt Hillam now had to do was trust the the rear end would not now let go in the way it had been doing. Many competiotors during the afternoon were suffering with a common issue - the tyres not taking to the sunshine. Beacuse of the length of the back straight on the International course Bradley Hobday ran a long gear, the downside of which was the reluctance of the car to pull too readily out of the slower corners on the course.

Top 12 Run Off

Jim Belt undertook his customary single run to secsure his point. Bradley Hobday suffered rather more than customarily, given the nature of the International course with such a long flat out back straight. He nonetheless managed both times under the existing 1100 record. Tony Jarvis and Martin Webb managed to produce equal best times, so reference to their second best run times was required to separate them. Steve Miles managed to better that best time in his best run. The long back straight was likely to be the most difficult for Michael Connolly, qualifying for his first British Sprint Championship Run Off at the first time of asking, with the misfire engaging part way along that straight. He nonetheless managed to produce a time to separate the two SBD Motorsport drivers with his best time of the day. Matt Hillam was comfortably clear of Miles but Connolly was out of reach. Steve Broughton showed the benefit of the car's examination and managed a time which pleased him and very much on the 2 litre pace. Just ahead was Craig Sampson but he was bettered by Nick Algar, the only forecd induction car in the Run Off. Nonetheless Mark Smith managed a sub 2 litre record time to capture the runner up spot. However John Graham demonstrated that he is now definitely getting to grips with his Gould finishing witha very pleasing time.RESULTS

1. John Graham (2.8 Gould-NME GR55B) 74.24; 2. Mark Smith (2.0 SBD Reynard DB Mk1) 76.80; 3. Nick Algar (1.3s DJ Firehawk)77.82; 4. Craig Sampson (2.0 SBD Reynard DB Mk1) 78.01; 5. Steve Broughton (2.0 SBD Dallara F3RB01) 78.58; 6. Michael Connolly (4.0 Gould-Judd GR37)78.95; 7. Matt Hillam (2.0 SBD Dallara F3RB01) 79.58; 8. Steve Miles (2.0 Van Diemen RF96mm) 80.08; 9. Martin Webb (2.0 Dallara F399/00) 81.01; 10 Tony Jarvis (2.0 Dallara F399/00) 81.01; 11. Bradley Hobday (1.0 Jedi Mk4) 81.98; 12. Jim Belt (3.0 Juno TR400) 83.88.