Round 7 2018 SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship

Lydden Hill-14 July 2018


Organised by Maidstone & Mid Kent, TWMC, Borough 19 & Sevenoaks Motor Clubs

by Paul Parker

This was the beginning of two back to back weekends at opposite ends of the country. Unsurprisingly this attracted largely those from the South of England & the Midlands. Those from the North of England & Scotland were saving themselves for the succeeding weekend at the two opposite directional versions of Knockhill. My generalisation however does not take into account the significant journey undertaken by John Graham from the Lake District recognising the quality of the Sprint course which Lydden Hill represents.

John Graham set his stall out in the 2nd timed run finding 5 seconds over his first run time and qualified top by a country mile (quite appropriate for a farmer). Matt Hillam was on the case of the two litre fraternity and qualified closest to the record for any of our groups and was a second clear of the two Steves Miles & Broughton. As is customary Pete Goulding (who had visited the venue last year) and Graham Blackwell were back to back in their similar Mygales. Also qualifying together were Steve Brown (his inaugural qualification) and Graham Porrett (driving alone for once). Then finally the shared car of Bill Gouldthorpe and Carole Torkington.

Run Off

Sadly the Bill Gouldthorpe car let him down on his second run. Something inside the cockpit becoming detached. The Championship Co-Ordinator indulged in some coaching of Mrs Torkington between runs, after which she returned clearly chuffed to bits having discovered nearly three seconds and an improved finishing position and points! Graham Porrett finished with his best time of the day, but was bettered by Steve Brown by a couple of tenths on his best time of the day and his first British Sprint Championship points. A few tenths separated Graham Blackwell and Pete Goulding and a couple of seconds further ahead again was Steve Miles continuing his Michelin tyres experiment. Then came a disappointed John Graham who spun at North Bend on his first run and although he set a time on his second run I'd guess he kicked himself all the way home as he lost a couple of seconds which were there for the begging? The SBD pairing battled for the top 2 places Steve Broughton bettering John Graham by 3/10ths but finishing top of the tree for his first British Sprint Championship event win was a delighted Matt Hillam.


1. Matt Hillam(2.0 SBD Dallara F3)66.06secs
2. Steve Broughton(2.0 SBD Dallara F3)66.69secs
3. John Graham(3.5 Gould GR55B-NME66.93secs
4. Steve Miles(2.0 Van Diemen-SBD RF96)67.59secs
5. Pete Goulding(1.6t Mygale) 69.53secs
6. Graham Blackwell(1.6t Mygale) 70.25secs
7 Steve Brown(1.5 JKS JR01) 70.32secs
8. Graham Porrett(3.5 Lola-Tegra Judd)70.51secs
9. Carole Torkington(1.6 OMS Hayabusa SBD)78.25secs
10. Bill Gouldthorpe(1.6 OMS Hayabusa SBD)79.11secs