Round 6 2015 SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship

Pembrey-30th May 2015

A new record

Organised by BARC (Wales)

by Paul Parker

Two additions, for the year, joined us for the first time. They had both undertaken "shakedown" exercises at an event a few days before. Scott Pillinger returned after a few years away, but sadly the repair work which had been undertaken in the preceding week was not wholly successful. He did try a practice outing in the Simon Clemow car (Simon here for the weekend as Pembrey was an ASWMC qualifier) but didn't feel altogether comfortable so reluctantly gave up on his weekend. Also joining us again was Dave Cutcliffe, whose "shakedown" outing was slightly more successful, in the hope of taking matters a stage further.

We were also visited by the Sprint Leaders Champion from 15 years ago. James Belton who, in recent years, has been found most often in a rally car (actually a Subaru Impreza WRC), often competing on events in Ireland, was taking the role of "trolley dolly" forhis son Ellis. They had rid themselves of the Subaru and acquired an ex-M Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 in left hand drive. Indeed they had turned down a few days before the opportunity of acting as Course Car on Epynt. It was great to see James back, he lives after all in SW Wales, back with us for the day.>p>

A lovely day presented itself for Saturday. There were however widespread comments about the venue surface, as it was the venue for Truck Racing the previous weekend, so strange rubber combined with diesel droppages accounted for this. The Calders deciding that a singular timed run was enough to qualify. As with the Calders most competitors times were rather all over the place as the track rubbered in, so simply qualifying was an achievement for many. Times for the top handful were fairly close and that also was the case for the next nine competitors.

Bill Gouldthorpe managed to squeeze in and conducted the usual practice of a "banker" before trying to improve, but unfortunately Bill was a little outpaced by the remainder. Bradley Hobday (who was given the honour, during the weekend's prizegiving on the Sunday, of "Driver of the Weekend" something the club intend to formalise from 2016 in future events) also found that his engine's capacity was his hindrance but he nonetheless managed to, in setting his fastest run of the day, managed to consign the 1100cc Race Car mark to history. Tony Jarvis, rather uncharacteristically these days, was next up about three quarters of a second ahead of Hobday. Steve Broughton, having been a poorly bunny all the preceding week, was not in the best of health over the weekend either so his run half a second up on Jarvis was no great surprise. His co-driver, Matt Hillam, was only a few hundredths better. Steve Miles overcame both of them, but only by a few tenths. Then qualifying for the first time in about 10 years was Dave Cutcliffe, struggling with oil pressure making random disappearances, and for safety resulted in just a singular run, did well enough to finish midfield. Mark Smith appeared to be having not the best of events, his times seemingly rather all over the place, was nonetheless well clear of Cutcliffe, but was a tad distant from those ahead of him. John Graham, now steadily getting on top of the Gould, was half a second clear but half a second shy of Smith's co-driver Craig Sampson. Both Calders set opening times better than their sole timed run, Heather then took her second, finding more than a couple of seconds so putting the pressure on the reigning champion. So what does he do, he finds almost a couple of seconds himself and breaks the outright record into the bargain, an issue which self-evidently delighted him!


1. Colin Calder (3.5 Gould-NME GT55) 86.50; 2. Heather Calder (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 87.48; 3. Craig Sampson (2.0 SBD Reynard DB-Mk 0)94.28; 4. John Graham (2.8 Gould-NME GR55B) 94.81; 5. Mark Smith (2.0 SBD Reynard DB Mk 0) 95.32; 6. Dave Cutcliffe (1.3T Van Diemen DC93M) 96.99; 7. Steve Miles (2.0 Van Diemen RF96mm) 97.26; 8. Matt Hillam (2.0 SBD Dallara F3 RB01) 97.57; 9. Steve Broughton (2.0 SBD Dallara F3 RB01) 97.60; 10. Tony Jarvis (2.0 Dallara F399/00) 98.14; 11. Bradley Hobday (1.0 Jedi Mk4) 98.88; 12. Bill Gouldthorpe (1.6 SBD OMS CF08) 101.77: