Round 5 2014 SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship

Snetterton 100-18th May 2014

More heat

Organised by Borough 19 Motor Club

by Paul Parker

Much the same weather lead to the same difficulties for everyone, on the Sunday. Consequently both Calders and Terry Holmes managed to qualify on their openers, and left it at that, as did Mark Smith. Sadly although they had both qualified a top end of the engine failure meant that Martin Webb and Tony Jarvis were unable to take up their position in the Top 12. They were succeeded by the top 2 non-qualifiers Kurt Ramsden & Jim Belt in the Run Off. The other difference, from the Saturday Run Off, was that Graham Porrett this time made no mistakes to qualify midfield.

Top 12 Run Off

As is customary both Kurt Ramsden & Jim Belt conducted just one run each, and concluded with very closely matched times. In his opener made the same mistake that he did at Croft. He was after record bonus points, but unfortunately failed on his opener, so had to be rather more conservative on his second run to ensure he went home with points at all! So next up was Steve Broughton, as ever spending another day "tickering" with his settings to enhance his handling. Just a way ahead was Graham Porrett a tad behind the SBD boss' co-driver Matt Hillam. Managing to find a little more time, from the day before, next up was John Graham, to conclude his opening weekend in his new acquisition the right way with more points. This time Steve Miles managed to just better him and finish his day just 1/100th behind Craig Sampson. Mark Smith made sure of more points in this Run Off by a gentle qualification ensurung a Run Off position but ahead of his co-driver to benefit from cooler tyres. This helped his points score. Terry Holmes improved his time on his opener, compared with the day before, which he wasn't able to improve on his second run. Heather Calder too set her best on her opener to ultimately conclude just a few tenths behind her father, who managed the 2nd win of the weekend


3.5 Lola Tegra Judd2.0 SBD Dallara F399/01
1 Colin Calder3.5 Gould GR5578.90secs
2 Heather Calder3.5 Gould GR5579.24secs
3Terry Holmes3.5 Lola Tegra Judd80.15secs
4 Mark Smith2.0 SBD Reynard DBMH281.75secs
5Craig Sampson2.0 SBD Reynard DBMH282.28secs
6Steve Miles2.0 Van Diemen RF96mm1382.29secs
7John Graham2.8 Gould GR5582.52secs
8Matt Hillam2.0 SBD Dallara F399/0183.05secs
9Graham Porrett83.98secs
10Steve Broughton84.36secs
11Kurt Ramsden1.5 Radical SR3 turbo88.75secs
12Jim Belt3.0 Juno-Jaguar88.92secs