Round 2 2017 SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship

Croft-17 April 2017

Graham wings it

Organised by Darlington & District Motor Club

by Paul Parker

Despite weather forecasts suggesting the contrary the Easter Monday Croft was greeted by dry weather throughout the day, although not altogether warm. John Graham arrived replete with a brand new wing, much narrower than its predecessor recognising that the previous version was too large given the speeds it was being faced with now, compared with those for which it was designed originally. For much of the day it was apparent that both Terry Holmes and Graham Porrett were able to enjoy 8 cylinders again, Terry Holmes being fastest of all throughout the majority of the day. Steve Miles was troubled during the timed runs his car coming to a halt after only a few corners in his first timed run. He then spent much of his time, under instruction from the SBD fraternity, armed with various tools, correcting the shortcoming. Nick Algar too was troubled by a variety of ailments which eventually were overcome. Grahame Harden spent much of his day troubled by his clutch, having partly repaired the item between events, but still awaiting some new springs (which were apparently in the post!) for it.

Terry Holmes was a second and three quarters clear during the timed runs. John Graham following was another second clear of a bunch of five who included Steve Miles, Matt Hillam, Graham Porrett, Nick Algar and Steve Broughton who were all covered by little more than the interval that Terry Holmes was clear of the whole field. Another relatively packed bunch consisted of Simon Boulter, Tony Jarvis, Martin Webb and Graham Blackwell. The only isolated member of the family was Grahame Harden with his clutch slipping terribly, he was just left to bed in new tyres for Snetterton!

Top 12 Run Off

Sadly the electronic maladies of the Chichester Lola made a return. Graham Porrett stalled on the line and although the rear wheel centres crossed the start line he restarted and completed his run so if the worse came to the worst he would at least have a time set to determine points fo himself. Of the first Run Off runs to count one was that of Tony Jarvis (his two runs being only 6/100ths apart) and Terry Holmes who, conscious of the difficulty experienced by his co-driver, was more aggressive in the revs he used on the start line. It produced what, for him, would best be considered an indifferent start but was nonetheless the 2nd fastest time of the day. Grahame Harden, his clutch behaving itself rather better than earlier in the day, managed to find more than three seconds on his second run. Graham Blackwell, spending much of his day learning many of the bells and whistles his car had acquired, produced the best run of his day to manage a point. The times of both Martin Webb and Tony Jarvis were not far apart, Martin's best time being his final run, the pair separated by under a second. Graham Porrett followed the example of his co-driver on the startline of his second run. It also was far from his best launch but got him away and produced ultimately a time not too indifferent to earlier in the day. Simon Boulter's target was to get close to the times of Tony Jarvis and Martin Webb. His best Run Off time managed to beat both of them. The best car engined two litre cars' times were fairly close together. a second covering those of Steve Broughton, Steve Miles and Matt Hillam, the three finishing in the reverse order that I have just listed their names. Somewhere or other despite suffering various glitches over the day, Nick Algar found a best time which matched that of Terry Holmes' best, but his second best time was a handful of seconds away whereas Holmes second best was only a tad over a second away which succeeded in determining the tie break between the pair. Finally, finding almost a second and a half on his final run, victory went to John Graham although the track temperature impacting his ultimate time, compared with the year before.


John Graham(3.5 Gould-NME GR55B)70.84
Terry Holmes(3.5 Lola Tegra Judd)71.45
Nick Algar(1.3s DJ Firehawk)71.45
Matt Hillam(2.0 SBD Dallara F3)72.54
Steve Niles(2.0 Van Diemen RF96)72.67
Steve Broughton(2.0 SBD Dallara F3)73.55
Simon Boulter(1.0 OMS 2000M)76.21
Graham Porrett(3.5 Lola Tegra Judd)76.72
Tony Jarvis(2.0 Dallara F399/00)77.16
Martin Webb(2.0 Dallara F399/00)78.04
Grahame Harden(1.0 Jedi Mk6)78.86
Graham Blackwell(1.6t Mygale Ecoboost)80.03