Round 1 2016 SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship

Castle Combe-19th March 2016

Holmes heads the opener!

Organised by Bristol Motor Club

by Paul Parker

A dry but cold day greeted competitors for the 2016 SBD British Sprint Championship opener. With such an early start to the season, some competitors were unready. However those entered showed themselves to be held back in their times only by track temperature. Fastest in the timed runs was Steve Broughton in the SBD F3 Dallara, its chassis now showing the benefits of the work conducted on it over the last year, amplified as co-driver Matt Hillam was in 3rd spot. The other car at the top of the timed runs was the Terry Holmes/Graham Porrett Lola Tegra. Behind these 4 was local man, Dave Cutcliffe. However when it came to the Top 12 Run Off he was unable to complete either run! Both Matt Carter and Steve Miles were both showing good speed, during their timed runs. They were mixing it with the Tony Jarvis/ Martin Webb Dallara and close by the Simon Bainbridge SBR Crono had one good run, having shed one of its doors on its first run. At the bottom of the qualifiers was Grahame Harden, once again Jedi mounted and Carole Torkington driving alone for the early season events.

Bainbridge was troubled by the loss of a few gears, because of a problem in the gearchange mechanism on his opener in the Top 12 and returned to its trailer after his opener. Torkington showed good improvement on her opener, but its exhaust became detached during the 2nd run so brought that to a close. Harden, surprised even that he had qualified for the Top 12 showed a good advance on his final run to capture 9th spot. Having had their engine rebuilt over the winter both Tony Jarvis and Martin Webb were experiencing niggles with it. This was ultimately discovered to be a faulty throttle position sensor. So were both disappointed with their 7th & 8th placed finishes. An ultimate 1.1 second improvement on his 2nd Top 12 Top 12 run was enough to secure Matt Carter 6th spot. But 5th place was taken by Graham Porrett, whose times unfortunately seemed to suffer after his 2nd timed run “off” earlier. Steve Miles, who captured 4th spot, puzzled by the 2nd of his Run Off times, thinking it much better. 3rd place was taken by Matt Hillam, who showed time improvements during the day. His co-driver Steve Broughton concluded as runner-up, although a winning time was perhaps beyond him? Winner with a characteristic Top 12 performance was Terry Holmes, his times in both runs beyond anything the opposition could approach, a masterful drive.


1. Terry Holmes (3.5 Lola Tegra Judd) 114.84secs; 2. Steve Broughton (2.0 SBD Dallara F3) 117.63; 3. Matt Hillam (2.0 SBD Dallara F3) 119.00; 4. Steve Miles (2.0 Van Diemen RF96) 119.72; 5. Graham Porrett (3.5 Lola Tegra Judd) 122.08; 6. Matt Carter (1.3 Radical PR6) 122.96; 7. Tony Jarvis (2.0 Dallara- Cougar Power F399/00) 127.84; 8. Martin Webb (2.0 Dallara- Cougar Power F399/00) 129.61; 9. Simon Bainbridge (4.2 SBR Crono V8) 138.22; 10.Grahame Harden (1.0 Jedi Mk 6) 138.74; 11. Carole Torkington (1.6 SBD OMS CF08) 139.98; DNF Dave Cutcliffe (1.3t Van Diemen DC93M)